Feasts of God

God's Sacred Assemblies

God instituted seven religious feasts for His people to observe and receive blessings. These feasts, known as the feasts of God, transcend beyond the Israelites in the Old Testament; they also hold significance for Christians in this age.

In Leviticus 23, God specifically instructed Moses about seven yearly feasts, ordaining them as sacred assemblies.

The feasts are named as follows:

  • Passover
  • Feast of Unleavened Bread
  • Feast of Firstfruits (Resurrection Day)
  • Feast of Weeks (Pentecost)
  • Feast of Trumpets
  • Day of Atonement
  • Feast of Tabernacles


During the Old Testament period, God’s people adhered to these feasts, following the regulations of the Old Covenant under the Law of Moses. Transitioning into the New Testament, Jesus Christ observed the feasts of God according to the New Covenant, setting an example for Christians to follow (Jn 13:15).

Additionally, each feast bestows a unique blessing upon God’s people. For instance, the Passover grants the blessing of forgiveness of sins (Mt 26:26-28), while the Pentecost bestows the blessing of the Holy Spirit (Ac 2:1-4). Thus, the saints can receive God’s spiritual gifts throughout the entire year.

Together, the feasts of God designate a place known as Zion (Isa 33:20). Zion stands as the ultimate location where God grants the blessing of eternal life (Ps 133:1-3). For this reason, God prompts His people to gather and celebrate the feasts of God in Zion.

Feast of Unleavened Bread

world mission society church of god passover

Feast of Weeks

wmscog feast of weeks

Feast of Tabernacles

world mission society church of god mission preaching the gospel